Sharon Wheatley (Theater)

When did you realize you wanted to be a performer?

I don’t ever remember not wanting to be. Isn’t that crazy? I’d say my earliest memories were singing along to the radio and I remember seeing shows when I was a kid and thinking, “This is what I have to do.” Kind of along those lines. It’s pretty standard stuff, I remember performing for my stuffed animals in my dressing. I know a lot of people have a dream like that when they’re young and I’m not sure why mine manifested into a reality but it did, I think I never gave myself a different option. I didn’t really pursue anything else, I always say performing with the desire to be an actor is almost like a terminal disease, if you’re really going to do it you can never really cure yourself of it. You just have it for the rest of your life.

What advice do you have for students who are looking to pursue a career in theater?

I went to The University of Cincinnati- College-Conservatory of Music, which is a very competitive musical theater school. One of the things I wish someone would have told me and drilled when I was there was the idea that while you’re in college or while you’re getting training, because of the nature of the beast and because of the way shows are cast you’re only competing with people that are in your program. So, it’s easy to compare yourself to somebody else. It’s easy to be like, “It’s between me and Katie to play the Baker’s Wife in Into the Woods and as long as I’m better than Katie I’m going to get it.” Where in reality if you really want to be successful in the business you have to learn how to handle if you don’t get it and someone else gets it and honestly realize why. You have to say, “Why is that?” Is it because you need to work on your intonation because you don’t sing as well or do you have to take an improv class because you have to work on your comedic timing. The biggest thing I would say is to remember that once you’re in New York or wherever you’re going to go you’re not competing with people in your degree program anymore you’re competing with people from all around the country from the very best schools around the country, people who maybe just have this weird quirky talent. So, you have to make yourself be the best you can possibly be and not worry about who is standing next to you in that particular audition. Also, you have to learn how to handle it if you don’t get it and also rise up and figure out how to make yourself better. I mean, I’m 50 and I still, on a daily basis have to look at myself and think, “How can I improve that so that I can book that next job.”

What is something you wish someone had told you when you were first getting started in the industry?

That I had to take dance classes! That’s what I wish, I wish that I had taken dance classes just to learn combinations faster.  Figure out what your weakness is and improve it. What’s the one part of the audition that you dread? Focus on that. Maybe you’re not good at dialects, maybe you’re not good at a cold reading, maybe you’re not good at a time step, maybe you get a phone call saying we need you to play an instrument and you can’t. Work on the stuff you’re good at but seriously work on skills you’d like to have.

How has your time been so far at Come From Away? What’s your favorite memory from this journey so far?

First of all, it’s the dreamiest job a person could ever have. I mean, there’s a reason why 10 of the 12 of us are still here and it’s because we all love each other and we love our jobs and they treat us really well. On top of that my favorite memory has to be hands down going to Newfoundland to do the benefit concert. My favorite was going to the top of the Dover Fault with the real Nick and Diane, which was awesome.

What is your dream role?

That’s such a tricky question because the one thing I learned from Come From Away is that I like creating my own part. So, my dream role would be something that a composer or a playwright wrote for me. I want to do something new and something that’s specific for me and create a new role. If you want me to give you a more traditional answer I would say that before I die I have to play Mama Rose.

 

Sharon is currently starring as Diane in Come From Away on Broadway.

Leave a comment