Ephie Aardema (Theater)

Ephie+Aardema+Headshot.jpg

When did you realize you wanted to be an actor?

I was 10 when the theatre bug first bit. I was about 14 when I decided I definitely wanted to act as my main profession.

What was your first acting job and what did you learn from it?

The first professional acting job I had was in a dinner theatre production of Titanic in Orlando. I was 10 years old. I learned the importance of being on-time and off-book. Honestly, I learned about sex, interpersonal relationships, and social issues, too. It was an awakening. I would come home and talk to my mom about these deep issues I heard the adult actors dealing with. She was always game to dig in with me, to debate or decipher— I was lucky to have a mom like that.

What is something you wish someone told you about the industry when you were first starting out?

You have beautiful instincts. Not everyone on the team will see the piece the same way you do— but theatre is a collaboration. A team sport. And I hope you’ll find joy in trying things that scare you while also sticking up for your passions, your gut. There is a real math to that balance.

What advice do you have for students who are looking to pursue a career in theater?

Study. It can be at a university, or it can be on your own (taking classes, reading books on acting/art.) I went to Circle in the Square and wouldn’t trade that experience for anything. Also, find other passions. A well-rounded existence will mature your art and keep you sane.

How has your time been so far working on the Waitress tour? What has been your favorite tour memory?

I have been over-the-moon getting to know and travel with this company. I’ve been fascinated by Dawn for a while, so digging into her world has felt warm and kismet. My favorite tour memory so far has been staying in a cabin in the woods in Fayetteville, AR and waking up to a family of deer having breakfast in my yard.

What shows made you fall in love with theater? What shows are you currently loving?

Annie and the movie of My Fair Lady made me first fall in love with theatre.

The most recent musical I saw that I fell in love with is Come From Away (I know, I’m late to the game!) I can’t wait to be back in the city so I can see new shows.

If you could play any character from any show who would it be?

I’d love to do Michael Kimmel & Lauren Pritchard’s Songbird again. Someday I’d love to play Vivienne in Wit.

Ephie is currently starring as Dawn on the Waitress Tour.

Leave a comment