Kayla Davion (Theater)

5150581537554394.jpg

When did you realize you wanted to be an actor?

I realized I wanted to be an actor my senior year of high school doing an All-State theatre Production of Memphis the Musical! I couldn’t believe that there could actually be an African American lead in a show and when I was able to be in the ensemble and covering the lead for that show I knew there was no turning back!

What was your first acting job and what did you learn from it?

My first acting gig was actually Waitress the musical on Broadway! I was doing entertainment in theme parks before that so my first big thing actually was Broadway which was super exciting and nerve-racking! I learned that you have to be patient with yourself even when it feels like everyone else may seem to be rushing. I learned that you have to continue to be humble in every situation and learn as much as you can while you can! I learned that you all you have to do is be the best YOU that you can be and everything else falls into place! And I learned that putting in the work even on your days off is how you truly become the best you possible!

What is something you wish someone told you about the industry when you were first starting out?

I wish they would have told me how much of a sacrifice it was being in the industry and that it’s a full-time commitment.

What advice do you have for students who are looking to pursue a career in theater?

My advice would be to believe in yourself and know your worth. You have to believe in your own passions and ability. No one can do that for you. And also, to DO THE WORK! With both of these things, you are unstoppable.

How has your time been so far working on King Kong?

Oh man, my time in King Kong has been soooooo amazing I could cry. There were hard times, of course, I mean who doesn’t have a hard time creating an original Broadway show haha. But this cast and crew that I work with every day are the prime examples that you can always learn something new every day and live to LOVE every single day. I’m so grateful for them and I love them so much.

What shows made you fall in love with theater? What shows are you currently loving?

Memphis. I’ll keep saying it! It is my first love and always will be.  I also loved Once on this Island when it was out! I love Ain’t Too Proud! To be honest I love seeing a bunch of black people and people of color on stage in general so any show like that are all the shows I’m loving! Forever and always! Diversity is Key!

If you could play any character from any show who would it be?

Definitely  Felicia in Memphis!!!! I mean she is a strong black woman who also learns the meaning of love and music full on.

 

Kayla is currently performing in King Kong Alive on Broadway.

Leave a comment