Kyra Kennedy (Theater)

KyraKennedy_0531.jpg

When did you realize you wanted to be an actor?

Growing up, my parents were very involved in my community theatre. They couldn’t afford babysitters when I was growing up sometimes so I would just go with them to rehearsals and that became my “normal”. I never knew it was something I could study in college (I always thought an agent just “discovered” you. HA!) So when I was a junior in college I really began pursuing the career of it.

What was your first acting job and what did you learn from it?

One of my first paying and favorite acting jobs was playing “Louise” in Gypsy. I learned how to see myself as worthy and beautiful, much like Louise does, and the art of collaborating with like-minded people.

What is something you wish someone told you about the industry when you were first starting out?

For godsakes learn patience. And quit overthinking everything.

What advice do you have for students who are looking to pursue a career in theater?

If there is ANYTHING else you find yourself passionate about – GO FOR IT. This career is tough on the heart and soul and you get a LOT of no’s. If you think you can tough it out then look at this career in both a business and passion aspect – be an artist but also be a business owner – sell yourself! (not in like, a creepy way…you know what I mean)

How was your time on the Waitress Tour? 

I cannot WAIT to tour again. I loved traveling the country and finding/making a home in every city. My time on the Waitress tour was filled with a lot of growth and valuable learning lessons and being proud of the work I put in. 

What shows made you fall in love with theater? What shows are you currently loving?

Violet made me fall head over heels. It spoke to the southern soul in me and had such gorgeous music and themes that are STILL in my head to this day. It revolved around a strong woman and was just so unlike anything I had ever experienced. My favorite theatrical experience I’ve had as an audience member was seeing Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime when it opened in London. Luke Treadaway was simply breathtaking and the whole cast poured their heart and soul on that stage. It made me feel less alone in getting in my head and destigmatized mental illness. I must confess, I haven’t seen a lot lately, but the last thing I saw was To Kill A Mockingbird and I was shook. 

If you could play any character from any show who would it be?

I’d love to play a female version of Dear Evan Hansen. I’d love to further that conversation about mental illness and focus it around the female journey. I would also love to play Dot in Sunday in the Park with George or the Bakers Wife in Into the Woods. I was raised on Sondheim and would love to step into those shoes.

To learn more about Kyra’s work and upcoming shows visit her website.

Leave a comment